A letter to Bub

Help me understand, Bubba,
Why can’t we just make peace with ourselves?

Why do we have to beat the rest and ourselves even harder ?

Why can’t we just settle with what we have?

Why can’t things be as simple?

I wonder,

Can bagging that extra dollar make me happier?

Can having that great job make me feel more secure?

Can loving that perfect man make me feel that I am truely loved?

Does losing that extra dollar to someone who need it more than I do make me poorer?

Does refusing to climb the corporate ladder and settling as kindergarten teacher make me any less successful?

Does not having a man to love but having felt all the great love from family & friends make me a lonely person?

What does it take to feel whole, Bubba?
Tell me.
— 

Leave a Reply

